logo-mini
on Tour May June 2018

on Tour May June 2018

Verdant Productions & Do R Die Productions

present

SHOUT! The 60s Mod Musical

On tour throughout Ireland in May / June 2018

A nostalgic nod to London’s Swinging Sixties.

The musical follows five young female subscribers to a fictional magazine called Shout!, “the magazine for the modern woman”, as they come of age during the liberating 1960s that made England swing. From cover to cover, Shout! unfolds like a musical magazine and travels in time through the decade, chronicling the dawn of liberation of women. Just as Dusty Springfield, Petula Clark, Cilla Black and Lulu were independent women with major careers, English (and indeed Irish!) women were redefining themselves in the face of changing attitudes about women. Shout! and its all-female cast reflect that change through the unforgettable music of the era

Directed & Choreographed by Daniel “Cheech” Maguire

Musical Direction by Sarah Lynch Barrett

Fiona Carty as Orange Girl

Amy Penston as Yellow Girl

Jody Ennis as Blue Girl

Emily J.Carroll as Green Girl

Kelly-Marie Ní Cheallaigh as Red Girl

and  Keila Ana Whelan

Tour dates

Thursday 10th & Friday 11th May    Ramor Theatre, Virginia, Cavan  www.ramortheatre.com

Saturday 12th May     Source Arts Centre, Thurles  www.thesourceartscentre.ie

Weds 16 May    Solstice Arts Centre, Navan     www.solsticeartscentre.com

Thurs 17 May   Draíocht, Blanchardstown   www.draiocht.ie

Fri 18 May   Hawks Well Theatre, Sligo        www.hawkswell.com

Sat 19 May    Iontas Castleblayney, Monaghan   www.iontascastleblayney.ie

Mon 21- Fri 25 May    Everyman Theatre , Cork     www.everymancork.com

Sat 26 May   Theatre Royal Waterford     www.theatreroyal.ie

Weds 30 May Moat Theatre, Naas       www.moattheatre.com

Thurs 31 May    Pavilion Theatre, Dún Laoghaire    www.paviliontheatre.ie

Fri 1 June   Town Hall Theatre, Galway   www.tht.ie

Sat 2 June    Lime Tree Theatre, Limerick      www.limetree.ie

Weds 6 & Thurs 7 June   Civic Theatre, Tallaght    www.civictheatre.ie

Fri 8 June   An Táin, Dundalk     www.antain.ie

Sat 9 June  Birr Theatre & Arts Centre    www.birrtheatre.com

Thurs 14 June  Mullingar Arts Centre  www.mullingarartscentre.ie

Fri 15 June  Ardhowen, Enniskillen     www.iontascastleblayney.ie

Sat 16 June  Glór, Ennis    www.glor.ie

Shout! contains show stopping new arrangements of classic pop anthems of the decade, including, “Downtown”, “Son of a Preacher Man”, “Goldfinger”, “I Only Wanna Be With You”, “To Sir With Love” and of course, “Shout!”. The songs and each girl’s own unfolding story are tied together by hilarious sound bytes from the period – from 60s advertisements for anything and everything – to lonely hearts letters answered by Shout! magazine’s advice columnist, who thinks each girl’s problem can be solved with a “fetching new hair style and a new shade of lipstick.”

Duration 2 hrs incl interval

(Act 1 50 mins & Act 2 50 mins; interval 15 mins)

 

Reviews

Shout captures all the exuberant innocence, camp melodrama, and soulful heartbreak of the Sixties diva songbook      The Times London

Hits you with a burst of noisy energy, and sheer talent that simply takes your breath away   Whatsonstage.com

Stylish and inventive…a surprisingly shagadelic shindig    Talking Broadway

If you loved the songs of the 1960s you will thoroughly enjoy performances of songs such as Shout!…. There is a great sense of joy and fun about the whole production …it deserves to be a success

No More Workhorse

Shout The Mod Musical was originally created by Philip George & David Lowenstein

“Mod Musings” & “Groovy Gab” by Peter Charles Morris & Philip George

Orchestrations & Additional arrangements by Bradley Vieth

Originally Directed Off-Broadway by Philip George

Originally Choreographed Off -Broadway by David Lowenstein

Originally Produced Off-Broadway in New York City by Victoria Lang & P.P. Piccoli & Mark Schwartz

Developed in association with Amas Musical Theatre, Donna Trinkoff, Producing Director

Presented by arrangement with Music International (Europe) Limited

SHOUT! – A Swinging 60’s Sensation